Schools in Avery, Cherokee, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Polk, Rutherford counties represented

Press release from the N.C. Department of Public Instruction, shared Sept. 17:

State Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson will recognize 11 school districts and 35 high schools for having the highest graduation rates among all districts and schools in the state at a luncheon on Sept. 19 at 12:30 p.m. at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel & Convention Center, 4700 Emperor Blvd., in Durham.

Twenty-eight high schools will be honored for achieving a four-year cohort graduation rate of 100 percent while seven additional schools will be recognized for having the highest rates in the small, medium and large school size categories.

Districts that will be present are:

Avery County Schools
Burke County Schools
Catawba County Schools
Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
Cherokee County Schools
Cumberland County Schools
Dare County Schools
Davidson County Schools
Durham Public Schools
Edgecombe County Public Schools
Elkin City Schools
Forsyth County Schools
Gaston County Schools
Graham County Schools
Guilford County Schools
Hoke County Schools
Hyde County Schools
Jackson County Schools
Macon County Schools
Mooresville City Schools
Mount Airy City Schools
New Hanover County Schools
Polk County Schools
Rutherford County Schools
Scotland County Schools
Surry County Schools
Union County Public Schools
Wake County Schools
Wayne County Public Schools

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome was the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *