Election event: Analysis of Cawthorn/Davis debate

Join us Oct. 1 at 6 p.m. (ET) for a FREE virtual conversation/analysis of the Sept. 30 District 11 congressional debate. Jeff Tiberii, WUNC Capital Bureau Chief & Chris Cooper, Department of Political Science and Public affairs at Western Carolina University talk about the issues facing Western N.C. voters. Register now!

38 students nominated from across NC

Press release from Sen. Richard Burr’s office, shared March 18, and edited to reflect students from the 18 westernmost counties of North Carolina:

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Monday, U.S. Sen. Richard Burr announced his nomination of North Carolinians to serve at one of our nation’s military academies. The nominees were selected after an application and interview process conducted by Burr’s Academy Selection Committee, which is comprised of military academy graduates, veterans, and community leaders from across the state.

Truth delivered daily

The nominees, their hometown, high school and parents’ names are listed below the academy to which they have been nominated.

United States Air Force Academy

Mr. Jesse T. Chasteen
Blowing Rock, N.C.
Todd and Kim Chasteen
Watauga High School

Mr. Justin W. Dotson
Black Mountain, N.C.
Christine Dotson
Charles D. Owens High School

Mr. Elijah D. Nicholson
Hayesville, N.C.
Grant and Karen Nicholson
Hayesville High School
Northwestern Preparatory

United States Naval Academy

Mr. Thomas W. Rennard, Jr.
Asheville, N.C.
Thomas and Jeanne Rennard
Covenant Academy of Asheville

United States Merchant Marine Academy

Become a Carolina Public Press insider.

Text INSIDER to (919)897-8555 and be among the first to hear about special events and exclusive content.

William D. (Cody) Day
Asheville, N.C.
Jeannie Fox
Hargrave Military Academy

Angie Newsome

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at anewsome@carolinapublicpress.org.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *