Before you go …

If you like what you are reading and believe in independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism like ours—journalism the way it should be—please contribute to keep us going. Reporting like this isn’t free to produce and we cannot do this alone. Thank you!

Press release from the N.C. Department of Public Instruction, shared Jan. 9:

Education icon

Nine teachers have been selected to represent their regions and charter schools as the state’s regional Teachers of the Year and will now compete for the title of 2014-15 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2013-14 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year Karyn Dickerson, an English teacher at Grimsley High School (Guilford County Schools).

North Carolina Regional Teachers of the Year are

  • North Central Region: Rhonda Holmes, Conway Middle (Northampton County Schools);
  • Northeast Region: Charlene Evans, Plymouth High (Washington County Schools);
  • Northwest Region: Alex Reynolds, Jesse Carson High (Rowan-Salisbury Schools);
  • Southeast Region: Melissa Gillespie, Laney High (New Hanover County Schools);
  • Southwest Region: James Ford, Garinger High (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Sandhills/South Central Region: Everlene Davis, South Columbus High (Columbus County Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Kathy Saunders, Asheboro High (Asheboro City Schools);
  • West Region: Melissa Faetz, South Macon Elementary (Macon County Schools); and
  • Charter Schools: Chris Weaver, Evergreen Charter (Buncombe County).

“These teachers are awesome examples of the quality of teachers North Carolina students are fortunate to have in their classrooms,” said State Superintendent June Atkinson. “Thanks to the Burroughs Wellcome Fund whose support enables us to recognize the dedication and commitment of these teachers. I know these teachers will contribute just as much to our state during their service on the 2014-15 North Carolina Teacher of the Year team as they do in their classrooms each day.”

The 2014-15 North Carolina Teacher of the Year will be announced April 3 at an awards ceremony in Cary.

North Carolina has recognized outstanding teachers through its Teacher of the Year program since 1970. For more information on North Carolina’s Teacher of the Year recognition program, visit

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *