The North Carolina General Assembly in Raleigh. File photo by Angie Newsome/Carolina Public Press

Journalism with impact

I want to receive independent, investigative local news every day.

North Carolina lawmakers are moving forward with efforts to repeal educational standards known as Common Core, with the state Senate voting yesterday to approve its version of the measure. Here is how the state’s House and Senate voted on bills seeking the repeal. The versions must be reconciled before going to Gov. Pat McCrory for final approval.

Details from the N.C. General Assembly:

NC House vote

Bill here. Approved, 78-39:

Truth delivered daily

Ayes:   Representative(s):
Brisson; Queen; Waddell
Arp; Avila; Bell, J.; Blackwell; Blust; Boles; Brawley, R.; Brawley, W.; Brody; Brown, B.; Brown, R.; Bryan; Bumgardner; Burr; Catlin; Cleveland; Collins; Conrad; Daughtry; Davis; Dixon; Dobson; Dollar; Elmore; Faircloth; Ford; Fulghum; Hager; Hardister; Hastings; Hollo; Holloway; Horn; Hurley; Iler; Jeter; Johnson; Jones; Jordan; Lambeth; Langdon; Lewis; Malone; Martin, S; McElraft; McGrady; McNeill; Millis; Moffitt; Moore, T.; Murry; Pittman; Presnell; Ramsey; Riddell; Ross, S.; Saine; Samuelson; Schaffer; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Stam; Starnes; Steinburg; Stevens; Stone; Szoka; Torbett; Turner; Warren, H.; Wells; West; Whitmire; Younts
Noes:   Representative(s):
Adams; Alexander; Baskerville; Bell, L.; Brandon; Carney; Cotham; Cunningham; Earle; Farmer-Butterfield; Fisher; Floyd; Gill; Glazier; Goodman; Graham, C.; Graham, G.; Hall, D.; Hall, L.; Hamilton; Hanes; Harrison; Holley; Insko; Jackson; Lucas; Luebke; Meyer; Michaux; Mobley; Moore, R.; Pierce; Reives; Richardson; Terry; Tine; Tolson; Wilkins; Wray
Not Voting:   Representative(s):
Tillis (SPEAKER)
Exc. Absence:   Representative(s):
Martin, G

NC Senate vote

Bill here. Sen. Dan Soucek (R-Watauga) was a primary sponsor.

Approved, 33-15:

Become a Carolina Public Press insider.

Text INSIDER to (919)897-8555 and be among the first to hear about special events and exclusive content.

Ayes:   Senator(s):
Jenkins; McLaurin
Allran; Barefoot; Barringer; Berger; Bingham; Brock; Brown; Cook; Curtis; Daniel; Davis, J.; Goolsby; Gunn; Harrington; Hartsell; Hise; Hunt; Jackson; Krawiec; Newton; Pate; Rabin; Rabon; Randleman; Rucho; Sanderson; Soucek; Tarte; Tillman; Tucker; Wade
Noes:   Senator(s):
Blue; Bryant; Clark; Davis, D.; Ford; Foushee; Graham; J. Jackson; McKissick; Parmon; Robinson; Stein; Van Duyn; Walters; Woodard
Exc. Absence:   Senator(s):
Apodaca; Meredith

Angie Newsome

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *