WNC Transportation is a new and permanent feature from Carolina Public Press offering road, public transportation, sidewalk, bike and greenway information for each of the 18 westernmost counties of North Carolina. It also includes information on road and highway planning organizations — the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) and Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs) — for your county.

This resource list for Cherokee County will be updated periodically. Have a question, suggestion or update to this resource list? Please contact us at info@carolinapublicpress.org.

Public Transit

Cherokee County Transit
Phone: 828-837-1789
Office Hours: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday-Friday

Cherokee County Transit provides daily trips to Murphy, Andrews, Marble and Peachtree. They also provide scheduled trips to Asheville, Waynesville, Clyde, Franklin, Robbinsville, Hendersonville, Hayesville, Atlanta, Blairsville, Gainesville, Chattanooga, Knoxville and Turtletown. These trips must be scheduled with as much notice as possible.

Call at least a day ahead to schedule trips for WalMart shopping, pharmacy trips and trips to pay bills. The weekly shopping trips are for specific areas in the county, so call a week ahead to find out the shopping day for your area. All out-of-county transportation must be scheduled two days in advance. All in-county transportation must be scheduled by 2 p.m. the previous business day.

In Murphy and Andrews — $5
In Cherokee County — $10
Hayesville, Robbinsville and Turtletown — $20
Bryson City, Franklin, and Telico Plains — $25
Sylva, Cleveland and Ellijay — $30
Clyde, Waynesville, Dalton, Gainesville and Jasper — $35
Asheville (Medical), Atlanta (Medical), Knoxville and Chattanooga — $45

Road Repairs

If the road is maintained and owned by the state of North Carolina, call the N.C. Department of Transportation at 828-321-4105.

If the road is owned by the town of Andrews, call town hall at 828-321-3113.

If the road is owned by the town of Murphy, call city hall at 828-837-2510.

Road and Highway Planning

Southwestern Rural Planning Organization is an agency that provides transportation planning and mapping/GIS support to Cherokee County and its municipalities. It serves as a forum for local officials and citizens to interact with the North Carolina Department of Transportation.

Philip Moore, senior planner and coordinator
Phone: 828-586-1962, ext. 213
Email: phil@regiona.org

The NCDOT Division 14 is also involved with the planning and development of transportation projects in Cherokee County.

Ed Green, division engineer
Phone: 828-586-2141
Email: eagreen@ncdot.gov


Cherokee County Parks and Recreation Department
699 Connahetta St.
Murphy, NC 28906

Phillip Davis, director
Phone: 828-837-6617
Email: phillip.davis@cherokeecounty-nc.gov

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Chase Erickson is a former intern at Carolina Public Press.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *