WNC Transportation is a new and permanent feature from Carolina Public Press offering road, public transportation, sidewalk, bike and greenway information for each of the 18 westernmost counties of North Carolina. It also includes information on road and highway planning organizations — the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) and Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs) — for your county.

This resource list for Haywood County will be updated periodically. Have a question, suggestion or update to this resource list? Please contact us at info@carolinapublicpress.org.

Public Transit

Haywood Public Transit
Susan Anderson, director
Email: sanderson@mountainprojects.org
Phone: 828-565-0362

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday, 6 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.

Passengers must schedule their ride at least one business day before their appointment. When you schedule your ride, the scheduler will let you know the costs of your ride if any apply.

Road Repairs

If the road is managed or owned by the state of North Carolina, call the N.C. Department of Transportation at 828-321-4105.

If the road is owned by the town of Canton, call Canton’s town hall at 828-648-2363.

If the road is owned by the town of Clyde, call Clyde’s town hall at 828-627-2566.

If the road is owned by the town of Maggie Valley – including Highway 19 and some non-town streets – call Maggie Valley’s Public Works Department at 828-926-0866.

If the road is owned by the town of Waynesville, call Waynesville’s public services department at 828-456-3706.

Road and Highway Planning

The French Broad River Metropolitan Planning Organization is involved with the road planning in Haywood County and in Canton, Maggie Valley and Waynesville . To get involved, go to www.fbrmpo.org/getinvolved-2/ or call 828-251-6622.

Paul Black, Director
Phone: 828-251-6622 Ext. 126
Email: paul@landofsky.org

Land-of-Sky Regional Planning Organization is also involved with the planning and development of roads in Haywood County.

Vicki Eastland
Phone: 828-251-6622 ext. 132
Email: vicki.eastland@landofsky.org

The NCDOT Division 14 is also involved with the planning and development of transportation projects in Haywood County.

Ed Green, division engineer
Phone: 828-586-2141
Email: eagreen@ncdot.gov


Haywood County Recreation and Parks Department
Greenway Master Plan

Claire Carleton, director
Email: ccarleton@haywoodnc.net
Phone: 828-452-6789

Office location:
63 Elmwood Way, Suite B101
Waynesville, NC 28786

Mailing Address:
215 N. Main St.
Waynesville, NC 28786

Waynesville Parks and Recreation Department

Rhett Langston, director
Phone: 828-456-2030
Email: rlangston@waynesvillenc.gov

Mailing Address:
550 Vance St.
Waynesville, NC, 28786

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Chase Erickson is a former intern at Carolina Public Press.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *