Press release from the NC League of Conservation Voters:

RALEIGH — The NC League of Conservation Voters’ Conservation PAC announced today (Monday) its endorsements of pro-conservation legislators for the November 4th General Election.

NCLCV is backing 14 candidates (six incumbents and eight challengers) for state Senate and 21 candidates (11 incumbents and ten challengers) for state House.

“After two years of unprecedented anti-environmental attacks by the leaders of this General Assembly, we need these pro-conservation candidates to come to Raleigh and stand up for clean air, safe drinking water, and the health of our communities,” said Dan Crawford, director of governmental relations for NCLCV.

According to the organization, the 2013-2014 General Assembly passed a succession of bills weakening protections for clean air, water, and land; cutting funding for environmental enforcement and for conservation trust funds; fast-tracking the environmentally hazardous drilling method of fracking; and failing to require full cleanup of dangerous coal ash pits.

North Carolina State Senate Races:

District 1 – Stan White; Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans
District 4 – Sen. Angela Bryant; Halifax, Nash, Vance, Warren, Wilson
District 8 – Ernie Ward; Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender
District 9 – Elizabeth Redenbaugh; New Hanover
District 13 – Jane Smith; Columbus, Robeson
District 15 – Tom Bradshaw; Wake
District 16 – Sen. Josh Stein; Wake
District 18 – Sarah Crawford; Franklin, Wake
District 19 – Billy Richardson; Cumberland
District 22 – Sen. Mike Woodard; Caswell, Durham, Person
District 23 – Sen. Valerie Foushee; Chatham, Orange
District 25 – Sen. Gene McLaurin; Anson, Richmond, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly
District 40 – Joyce Waddell; Mecklenburg
District 49 – Sen. Terry Van Duyn; Buncombe

North Carolina State House Races:

District 5 – Howard Hunter III; Bertie, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank
District 9 – Uriah Ward; Pitt
District 11 – Rep. Duane Hall; Wake
District 31 – Rep. Mickey Michaux, Jr.; Durham
District 33 – Rep. Rosa Gill; Wake
District 38 – Rep. Yvonne Lewis Holley; Wake
District 40 – Margaret Broadwell; Wake
District 44 – Rep. Rick Glazier; Cumberland
District 49 – Kim Hanchette; Wake
District 50 – Rep. Graig Meyer; Durham, Orange
District 53 – Susan Byerly; Harnett
District 56 – Rep. Verla Insko; Orange
District 60 – Cecil Brockman; Guilford
District 71 – Rep. Evelyn Terry; Forsyth
District 93 – Sue Counts; Ashe, Watauga
District 106 – Rep. Carla Cunningham; Mecklenburg
District 115 – John Ager; Buncombe
District 116 – Brian Turner; Buncombe
District 117 – Rep. Chuck McGrady; Henderson
District 118 – Dean Hicks; Haywood, Madison, Yancey
District 119 – Rep. Joe Sam Queen; Haywood, Jackson, Swain

NCLCV makes its endorsement decisions based on the environmental voting and leadership record of incumbent legislators, issue questionnaires sent to candidates, and other background information. The 2013 annual Scorecard and past Scorecards can be seen at The 2014 Scorecard will be released next month.

Learn More

More ELECTION 2014 coverage from Carolina Public Press may be found here.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome was the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *