The North Carolina General Assembly in Raleigh.
The North Carolina General Assembly in Raleigh. File photo by Angie Newsome/Carolina Public Press

Following the February coal-ash spill in North Carolina’s Dan River, lawmakers said getting coal-ash legislation in place was a top priority of the General Assembly’s short session.

But work to finalize any effort to regulate or clean up coal ash across the state was met with political debates — and even the prediction of the measure’s eventual death.

Last week, however, a compromise was reached, with conferees signing off on the bill last Tuesday afternoon. It was heard in the House Rules Committee the following morning. The committee sent the bill on to the House floor where, after about a half-hour debate, it was approved 84 to 13. The bill won by a larger margin in the Senate and, after passing 38 to 2, was sent to Gov. Pat McCrory.

North Carolina’s coal ash plan: What happened to the ‘deal breaker’? Coal ash bill eventually wins strong support, but getting to ‘Coal Ash 1’ was anything but easy

Here is how the state’s House and Senate voted on the Coal Ash Management Act of 2014, sponsored by Sen. Tom Apodaca, R- Henderson.

Details from the N.C. General Assembly:

NC House vote

Approved: 84-13

Alexander; Bell, L.; Brandon; Carney; Cotham; Earle; Floyd; Goodman; Graham, C.; Graham, G.; Hamilton; Jackson; Lucas; Moore, R.; Pierce; Queen; Reives; Waddell; Wilkins; Wray
Arp; Avila; Bell, J.; Blust; Boles; Brawley, R.; Brawley, W.; Brody; Brown, B.; Brown, R.; Bumgardner; Burr; Catlin; Cleveland; Conrad; Daughtry; Davis; Dixon; Dollar; Elmore; Faircloth; Ford; Hager; Hardister; Hastings; Holloway; Horn; Howard; Hurley; Iler; Johnson; Jones; Jordan; Lambeth; Lewis; Malone; Martin, S; McElraft; McGrady; McNeill; Millis; Moffitt; Moore, T.; Murry; Pittman; Presnell; Ramsey; Ross, S.; Saine; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Stam; Starnes; Stevens; Stone; Szoka; Tillis (SPEAKER); Torbett; Turner; Warren, H.; Wells; Whitmire; Younts
Adams; Baskerville; Brisson; Cunningham; Fisher; Hall, D.; Harrison; Insko; Luebke; Martin, G; Meyer; Michaux; Terry
Not Voting:Representative(s):
Exc. Absence:Representative(s):
Farmer-Butterfield; Gill; Glazier; Hall, L.; Hanes; Holley; Mobley; Richardson; Tine
Blackwell; Bryan; Dobson; Hollo; Jeter; Langdon; Riddell; Samuelson; Schaffer; Steinburg
Exc. Vote:Representative(s):

NC Senate vote

Approved: 38-2

Clark; Davis, D.; McKissick; McLaurin; Parmon; Stein; Walters; Woodard
Allran; Apodaca; Barefoot; Barringer; Berger; Bingham; Brock; Brown; Daniel; Gunn; Harrington; Hartsell; Hise; Hunt; Jackson; Krawiec; Lee; Meredith; Newton; Pate; Rabin; Rabon; Randleman; Rucho; Sanderson; Soucek; Tarte; Tillman; Tucker; Wade
Foushee; Van Duyn
Exc. Absence:Senator(s):
Blue; Bryant; Ford; Graham; J. Jackson; Jenkins; Robinson
Cook; Curtis; Davis, J.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *