Click to read the bill.

North Carolina lawmakers passed a measure this week that makes graffiti a crime with more serious penalties for some.

House Bill 552 makes graffiti a felony if someone has had two or more past convictions. Otherwise, a conviction would be a Class 1 misdemeanor and would include a minimum of a $500 fine and the possibility of 24 hours of community service.

Rep. Chuck McGrady, R-Henderson, was the primary sponsor of the legislation, which stipulates that the crime includes spray painting any public building, statues or monuments located in a public place and cemetery tombstones and monuments.

The bill now goes to Gov. Pat McCrory for his signature.

Here’s how the House and Senate voted on the measure, as reported by the N.C. General Assembly:

NC House vote: House Bill 552

Adcock; Ager; Alexander; B. Turner; Baskerville; Brisson; Brockman; C. Graham; Carney; Cotham; D. Hall; Floyd; G. Graham; G. Martin; Glazier; Goodman; Hamilton; Hunter; Insko; Jackson; L. Bell; Lucas; Pierce; Queen; R. Johnson; Reives; Salmon; Waddell; Willingham; Wray
Adams; Arp; Avila; B. Brown; Bishop; Blackwell; Blust; Boles; Bradford; Brawley; Brody; Bumgardner; Burr; Cleveland; Collins; Conrad; Daughtry; Davis; Dixon; Dobson; Dollar; Elmore; Faircloth; Ford; Fraley; Hager; Hardister; Hastings; Holloway; Horn; Howard; Hurley; Iler; J. Bell; Jeter; Jones; Jordan; L. Johnson; Lambeth; Langdon; Malone; McGrady; McNeill; Millis; Pendleton; Pittman; Presnell; R. Brown; R. Turner; Riddell; Robinson; Ross; S. Martin; Saine; Schaffer; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Stam; Steinburg; Stevens; Szoka; Tine; Torbett; Warren; Watford; West; Whitmire
Farmer-Butterfield; Fisher; Gill; Hanes; Harrison; Holley; Luebke; Meyer; Michaux; Richardson; Terry
Not Voting:Representative(s):
Cunningham; Earle
T. Moore (SPEAKER)
Exc. Absence:Representative(s):
L. Hall; R. Moore
Bryan; Catlin; Lewis; McElraft; Yarborough; Zachary

NC Senate vote

Clark; Lowe; McKissick; Smith; Stein; Woodard
Alexander; Apodaca; B. Jackson; Barefoot; Barringer; Berger; Bingham; Brock; Brown; Cook; Curtis; Daniel; Gunn; Harrington; Hartsell; Hise; J. Davis; Krawiec; Lee; McInnis; Meredith; Newton; Pate; Rabin; Rabon; Randleman; Rucho; Sanderson; Soucek; Tarte; Tillman; Tucker; Wade; Wells
Blue; D. Davis; Ford; Foushee; J. Jackson; Robinson; Smith-Ingram; Van Duyn; Waddell
Exc. Absence:Senator(s):

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *