Before you go …

If you like what you are reading and believe in independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism like ours—journalism the way it should be—please contribute to keep us going. Reporting like this isn’t free to produce and we cannot do this alone. Thank you!

On Wednesday, the North Carolina House and Senate both voted to override Gov. Pat McCrory’s veto of the so-called “ag-gag” bill.

House Bill 405, titled the Property Protection Act, allows private property owners to recover damages when someone enters their property or obtains a job for the purpose of stealing records, information or to make recordings. Proponents of the measure have deemed it an “ag-gag” bill, saying it will punish whistleblowers who allege maltreatment at farms or factories.

Both Rep. Chris Whitmire, R-Transylvania, and Rep. Jonathan Jordan, R-Watauga, were co-sponsors of the bill.

The website for the American Society for the Protection of Cruelty Against Animals said that seven other states had passed similar bills as of March 2015. They are Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota and Utah. Some 20 others have debated similar measures at the state legislative level.

According to the Associated Press, the override marks the third time the legislature has canceled one of McCrory’s vetoes since he took office in early 2013. He’s issued five vetoes during that time.

NC House: House Bill 405

Brisson; Brockman; C. Graham; Floyd; Glazier; Goodman; Hanes; Lucas; R. Moore; Salmon; Waddell; Wray
Adams; Arp; Avila; B. Brown; Bishop; Blackwell; Blust; Boles; Bradford; Brawley; Brody; Bumgardner; Burr; Cleveland; Collins; Conrad; Daughtry; Davis; Dixon; Dobson; Dollar; Elmore; Faircloth; Ford; Fraley; Hager; Hastings; Holloway; Horn; Howard; Hurley; Iler; J. Bell; Jones; Jordan; L. Johnson; Lambeth; Langdon; Lewis; McElraft; McGrady; McNeill; Millis; Pendleton; Pittman; Presnell; R. Turner; Riddell; Robinson; Ross; S. Martin; Saine; Schaffer; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Stam; Steinburg; Stevens; Szoka; Tine; Torbett; Warren; Watford; West; Whitmire; Yarborough
Adcock; Ager; Alexander; B. Turner; Baskerville; Carney; Cotham; Cunningham; D. Hall; Earle; Farmer-Butterfield; Fisher; G. Graham; G. Martin; Gill; Hamilton; Harrison; Holley; Hunter; Insko; Jackson; L. Bell; L. Hall; Luebke; Meyer; Michaux; Pierce; Queen; R. Johnson; Reives; Richardson; Terry; Willingham
Hardister; Malone; R. Brown
Not Voting:Representative(s):
Jeter; T. Moore (SPEAKER)
Exc. Absence:Representative(s):
Bryan; Catlin; Zachary

NC Senate

Clark; Ford; Woodard
Alexander; Apodaca; B. Jackson; Barefoot; Barringer; Berger; Brock; Brown; Cook; Curtis; Daniel; Gunn; Harrington; Hise; J. Davis; Krawiec; Lee; McInnis; Pate; Rabin; Rabon; Randleman; Rucho; Sanderson; Soucek; Tarte; Tillman; Tucker; Wade; Wells
Bryant; D. Davis; Foushee; J. Jackson; Lowe; McKissick; Robinson; Smith; Smith-Ingram; Stein; Van Duyn; Waddell
Bingham; Hartsell; Meredith
Not Voting:Senator(s):
Exc. Absence:Senator(s):

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *