The North Carolina General Assembly in Raleigh.
The North Carolina General Assembly in Raleigh. File photo by Angie Newsome/Carolina Public Press

Before you go …

If you like what you are reading and believe in independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism like ours—journalism the way it should be—please contribute to keep us going. Reporting like this isn’t free to produce and we cannot do this alone. Thank you!

The North Carolina legislature passed a measure this week changing the requirements women must follow to obtain an abortion in the state.

House Bill 465, called the Women and Children’s Protection Act of 2015, changes the waiting period for an abortion from one day to three, changes the requirements for clinic inspections and also changes the professional degrees abortion providers must have to perform the procedure.

The act also contains provisions regarding statutory rape, child support and the reduction of “maternal mortality.”

The bill now goes to Gov. Pat McCrory, who, according to a June 3 news report in the (Raleigh) News & Observer, said he intends to sign the legislation into law.

Here’s how lawmakers from across North Carolina voted, as reported by the N.C. General Assembly:

NC House: House Bill 465

Brisson; Salmon
Adams; Arp; Avila; Bishop; Blackwell; Blust; Boles; Bradford; Brawley; Brody; Bumgardner; Burr; Cleveland; Collins; Conrad; Daughtry; Davis; Dixon; Dobson; Dollar; Elmore; Faircloth; Ford; Fraley; Hager; Hardister; Hastings; Holloway; Horn; Howard; Hurley; Iler; J. Bell; Jeter; Jones; Jordan; L. Johnson; Lambeth; Langdon; Lewis; Malone; McElraft; McGrady; McNeill; Millis; Pendleton; Pittman; Presnell; R. Brown; R. Turner; Riddell; Robinson; Ross; S. Martin; Saine; Schaffer; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Stam (CHAIR); Steinburg; Stevens; Szoka; Torbett; Warren; Watford; West; Whitmire; Yarborough
Adcock; Ager; Alexander; B. Turner; Baskerville; Brockman; C. Graham; Carney; Cotham; Cunningham; D. Hall; Earle; Farmer-Butterfield; Fisher; Floyd; G. Graham; G. Martin; Gill; Glazier; Goodman; Hamilton; Hanes; Harrison; Holley; Hunter; Insko; Jackson; L. Bell; L. Hall; Lucas; Luebke; Meyer; Michaux; Pierce; R. Johnson; R. Moore; Reives; Richardson; Terry; Waddell; Willingham; Wray
Not Voting:Representative(s):
T. Moore (SPEAKER)
Exc. Absence:Representative(s):
B. Brown; Bryan; Catlin; Zachary

NC Senate

Alexander; B. Jackson; Barefoot; Barringer; Berger; Bingham; Brock; Brown; Cook; Curtis; Daniel; Gunn; Harrington; Hartsell; Hise; J. Davis; Krawiec; Lee; McInnis; Meredith; Newton; Pate; Rabin; Randleman; Rucho; Sanderson; Soucek; Tarte; Tillman; Tucker; Wade; Wells
Bryant; Clark; D. Davis; Ford; Foushee; J. Jackson; Lowe; McKissick; Robinson; Smith; Smith-Ingram; Van Duyn; Waddell; Woodard
Apodaca; Rabon
Exc. Absence:Senator(s):
Blue; Stein

Angie Newsome

Angie Newsome is the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *