Buncombe County's online marriage license application

On June 11, the North Carolina legislature voted to override Gov. Pat McCrory’s veto of the bill allowing the state’s magistrates to recuse themselves from performing same-sex marriage civil ceremonies.

“Magistrates Recusal for Civil Ceremonies,” which is Senate Bill 2, allows “magistrates, assistant registers of deeds and deputy registers of deeds to recuse themselves from performing duties related to marriage ceremonies due to sincerely held religious objection.”

The bill’s primary sponsor was Sen. Phil Berger, R-Guilford. Western North Carolina Sens. Ralph Hise, R-Mitchell, and Dan Soucek, R-Watauga, were two of 17 co-sponsors.

Here is how lawmakers from across North Carolina voted to override the governor’s veto, as reported by the N.C. General Assembly:

NC House

Brisson; C. Graham; Waddell
Adams; Arp; Avila; Bishop; Blackwell; Blust; Boles; Brawley; Brody; Bryan; Bumgardner; Burr; Cleveland; Collins; Conrad; Davis; Dixon; Dobson; Dollar; Elmore; Faircloth; Ford; Fraley; Hager; Hastings; Holloway; Horn; Hurley; Iler; J. Bell; Jones; Jordan; L. Johnson; Lambeth; Langdon; Lewis; Malone; McElraft; McGrady; McNeill; Millis; Pendleton; Pittman; Presnell; R. Brown; R. Turner; Riddell; Robinson; Ross; S. Martin; Saine; Schaffer; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Stam; Steinburg; Stevens; Szoka; T. Moore (SPEAKER); Torbett; Warren; Watford; West; Whitmire; Yarborough
Adcock; Ager; Alexander; B. Turner; Baskerville; Brockman; Carney; Cotham; Cunningham; D. Hall; Earle; Farmer-Butterfield; Fisher; Floyd; G. Graham; G. Martin; Gill; Glazier; Goodman; Hamilton; Hanes; Harrison; Holley; Insko; Jackson; L. Bell; L. Hall; Lucas; Luebke; Meyer; Michaux; Queen; R. Johnson; R. Moore; Reives; Richardson; Salmon; Willingham
Catlin; Daughtry; Tine
Exc. Absence:Representative(s):
Hunter; Pierce; Terry; Wray
B. Brown; Bradford; Hardister; Howard; Jeter; Zachary

NC Senate: Senate Bill 2

Apodaca; B. Jackson; Barefoot; Barringer; Berger; Bingham; Brock; Brown; Cook; Curtis; Daniel; Gunn; Harrington; Hise; J. Davis; Krawiec; Lee; McInnis; Meredith; Newton; Pate; Rabin; Rabon; Randleman; Rucho; Sanderson; Soucek; Tillman; Tucker; Wade; Wells
Bryant; D. Davis; Ford; Foushee; J. Jackson; Lowe; McKissick; Robinson; Smith; Smith-Ingram; Van Duyn; Waddell; Woodard
Alexander; Hartsell; Tarte
Exc. Absence:Senator(s):
Blue; Stein

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. You may republish our stories for free, online or in print. Simply copy and paste the article contents from the box below. Note, some images and interactive features may not be included here.

Angie Newsome was the executive director and editor of Carolina Public Press. Contact her at (828) 774-5290 or e-mail her at anewsome@carolinapublicpress.org.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *